www.Brooklyn-Homebrew.com

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A homebrew discussion board for Brooklyn and beyond!

You are not connected. Please login or register

Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread

5 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Empty Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:14 pm

mcfloater

I started brewing early this year and each time I make a small mistake, though, so far, each brew has come out great. I thought I was mistake free this time while brewing a pal ale, but alas.....

brew went perfect. fermented for 2 weeks. tested gravity and tasted...yummmm. kegged the biatch and put on my new tap from the lovely folks at brooklyn homebrew. so excited, the next day i went down to the basement to take a look...opened the fridge and the FREAKING ENTIRE KEG HAD LEAKED OUT WHERE THE TAP CONNECTS THE KEG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Lesson: ALWAY TIGHTEN (and double check) SCREWS ON TAP ATTACHMENTS OR GAS ATTACHMENTS. MAKE SURE THEY'RE TIGHT.

2Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Empty Re: Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:13 pm

Capt. KiRkLeS

Capt. KiRkLeS

Bummer!!! But at least you learned a lesson and now you have another reason to brew sooner than later. Hope you didn't waste too much $ on it.

3Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Empty Re: Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:07 pm

mcfloater

exactly my friend. already have an IPA fermenting.

no one else has any stupid mistakes they've made we can all learn from?

4Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Empty Re: Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:51 pm

Airborneguy

Airborneguy

Once you get your attention to detail down, you'll do it without even realizing it. I don't even run through the process in my head anymore, it's second nature. You'll get there... keep brewing!