www.Brooklyn-Homebrew.com
www.Brooklyn-Homebrew.com

A homebrew discussion board for Brooklyn and beyond!

You are not connected. Please login or register

Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Empty Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread on Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:14 pm

I started brewing early this year and each time I make a small mistake, though, so far, each brew has come out great. I thought I was mistake free this time while brewing a pal ale, but alas.....

brew went perfect. fermented for 2 weeks. tested gravity and tasted...yummmm. kegged the biatch and put on my new tap from the lovely folks at brooklyn homebrew. so excited, the next day i went down to the basement to take a look...opened the fridge and the FREAKING ENTIRE KEG HAD LEAKED OUT WHERE THE TAP CONNECTS THE KEG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Lesson: ALWAY TIGHTEN (and double check) SCREWS ON TAP ATTACHMENTS OR GAS ATTACHMENTS. MAKE SURE THEY'RE TIGHT.

View user profile

2Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Empty Re: Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread on Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:13 pm

Bummer!!! But at least you learned a lesson and now you have another reason to brew sooner than later. Hope you didn't waste too much $ on it.

View user profile

3Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Empty Re: Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread on Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:07 pm

exactly my friend. already have an IPA fermenting.

no one else has any stupid mistakes they've made we can all learn from?

View user profile

4Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Empty Re: Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread on Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:51 pm

Once you get your attention to detail down, you'll do it without even realizing it. I don't even run through the process in my head anymore, it's second nature. You'll get there... keep brewing!

View user profile

5Brewing Pitfalls and Blunders Thread Empty Ouch on Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:18 pm